History of Jones County, Mississippi

Jones County MS was formed on January 24, 1826

out of parts of Covington and Wayne Counties.

Jones County has two county seats:
Ellisville, being the first district and Laurel being the second district.

From 1865-1869, Jones County was known as Davis County.

Surrounding counties are
Wayne, Jasper, Smith, Covington, Forrest and Perry.